Disabled Peoples’ International (DPI)

DPI Logo


Australian Federation of Disability Organisations (AFDO) is the Australian representative of Disabled Peoples’ International (DPI).

AFDO President, Trevor Carroll currently holds the position of Chairperson on the DPI Asia-Pacific Executive, and Information Officer on the DPI World Council Executive.


About DPI

DPI was established in Singapore in 1981 the International Year of Disabled Persons (IYDP) to give a voice to people with disabilities through our disabled people organisations. Prior to this Rehabilitation International (service providers) was the only worldwide group working on disability issues.


About Trevor Carroll, AFDO President and Chairperson of DPI Asia-Pacific Region

Picture of Trevor Carroll

Mr. Trevor Carroll is the President and Chairperson of Australian Federation of Disability Organisations (AFDO), the peak body representing people with disability in Australia. He is also the Executive Officer of Disability Justice Advocacy and leads a team of nine disability advocates funded by the Federal Department of Social Services. 

Mr. Carroll is also a Trustee of a government regulated superannuation fund and is a member of the Police Disability Portfolio Reference Group. He has served four years as the Chair of the Victorian Equal Opportunity and Human Rights Commission Disability Reference Group. He is passionate about protecting and enhancing the human rights of people with disabilities after having first-hand discrimination in Australia.  He was a recipient of a Harvard Scholarship in 2012, was nominated for Australian of the Year on 2016 and has won numerous awards for his work. He is also a member of Independence Australia, Meniere's Australia and is a Mentor with the Australian Quadriplegics Association. He has a B. ED (Music) and an M. Ed in Disability.


The full Executive of the DPI Asia-Pacific is below, as voted in on 10th April 2016 at the DPI Asia-Pacific Regional Assembly in New Delhi, India.

1. Chairperson - Trevor Carroll, Australia
2. Vice-Chairperson - Casper Fa'asala, Solomon Islands
3. Vice-Chairperson - Muhammad Usman Khaled, Bangladesh
4. Secretary - Ky Sophan, Cambodia
5. Treasurer - Josephine de Vera, Philippines
6. Information Officer - Ahmed Mohamed, Maldives


To view the Delhi Declaration which reached unanimous agreement by all attendees at the DPI 9th World Assembly held on April 11-13, 2016 in New Delhi, India Follow this link


AFDO President, Trevor Carroll and DPI Chairperson Javed Abidi


Photo: AFDO President, Trevor Carroll and DPI Chairperson Javed Abidi